History of l'Association des familles Proulx d'Amérique

This page traces the history of the events that led to the creation of the Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique (Proulx Family Association of America) following the grand gathering of Proulx families held in Rimouski in the summer of 1996.

Rimouski’s family gathering in 1996.

In 1996, during the 300th anniversary celebrations of the City of Rimouski, an interim committee was formed to set up an association of the Proulx families. This 13-person committee consisted of 7 people from outside the region, 4 of whom lived in provinces other than Quebec.

Efforts deployed to organize the Proulx Gathering in July 1996 had undermined energies and few were ready to embark on a new adventure.

Then, before we knew it, the flame rekindled. Some of the actors of the 1996 gathering re-acquainted. So that by the end of 2004 the unthinkable will become feasible.

2005 Activity report

The year 2005 is marked by the desire of some members of the interim committee to relaunch the work to form an association bringing together families bearing the name Proulx.

Several informal meetings and a search for volunteers who are available and ready to commit themselves to achieving this objective mobilized the directors during the year 2004.

Informal exchanges make it possible to establish a coherent action plan. The whole process of setting up an association is analyzed. The steps to apply for our Letters Patent are under discussion. The search for a name for the future association raises questions. The creation of a Web site specific to the new association as well as its contents mobilizes many efforts.

The interim committee met formally on November 23rd, 2005. The official balance sheet of the future association covering the period from November 1st, 1996 to November 23rd, 2005 was adopted unanimously. The bank balance is $5,509.69.

Referring to the work of genealogist Antonin Proulx on the various strains of Proulx which were a considerable contribution to the settlement of New France, the committee, after deliberation, unanimously agreed to retain the following corporate name: Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique.

Then, on December 8th, 2005, our treasurer Langis Proulx tabled an official document requesting a corporate name search with the Inspector General of Financial Institutions of the Government of Quebec.

This will be the first legal step towards the establishment of our Association.

2006 activity report:

On January 6th, 2006, the secretary of the interim committee submitted a request for a corporate name reservation: Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique following the positive receipt of the name search report with the Registraire des entreprises, Direction des entreprises, Gouvernement du Québec.

The interim committee met on March 24th, 2006, at the Résidence Lionel-Roy, Rimouski. It proceeds to the request for incorporation as a non-profit legal entity for our future association.

To obtain our letters patent, the applicants are Joseph Proulx, Martin Proulx, and Langis Proulx. The other applicants were Serge Proulx, Jeanine Proulx, Lucette Proulx/Lepage, Nicole Proulx, Christiane Brisson, Claude Brisson and Jean-Paul Guévin.

The head office of our Association shall be in Rimouski, Quebec.

The first directors unanimously proposed were: Joseph Proulx, Martin Proulx, Langis Proulx, Serge Proulx, Jeanine Proulx, Lucette Proulx/Lepage, Nicole Proulx, Christiane Brisson.

The amount that our Association can own is limited to $500,000.

The mission and objectives listed in the application are listed in the “Bylaws” document that has been distributed to all members in good standing of the Association.

Our sworn application was sent on April 28th, 2006. Our letters patent are dated May 12th, 2006.

The Caisse Populaire de St-Anaclet is retained to carry out our banking transactions.

2007 Activity report

No formal meetings of the Association were held during 2007. At informal meetings, the directors considered the content of future by-laws, the elements to be taken into account in designing a Web site and its hosting, the question of having a coat of arms, the membership fee, the recruitment of members and the opportunity to write a journal as well as the organization and convening of a general meeting of the members of the Association.

2008 activity report

Your directors met six times during the year at the Résidence Lionel Roy in Rimouski. Two major objectives: the by-laws and the holding of a general assembly.

The by-laws were finalized at a By-laws Committee meeting held on August 21st, 2008. Then the form and content were revised by Mrs. Georgette Lévesque and Mr. Pierre Proulx. On September 10th, 2008, your directors, after further reading, accepted them in the wording to be presented at the September 2008 general meeting.

All meetings held in 2008 focused on organizing the first annual meeting.

The whole issue surrounding the creation of our own Web site had a happy ending with Mr. Gilles Proulx’s offer to host us on his Web site. See www.gilles-proulx.com. He even had to build us our own web page. It has been done since then.

The question of the intellectual property of our coat of arms was settled by the gift of Mrs. Lucette Proulx/Lepage of the right she had to our Association at the meeting of September 10th, 2008.

Making a banner and pins are other visual measures taken to mark our annual meeting.

We hope that the Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique will become a unifying force and that many people bearing the name Proulx or others will join our ranks to energize its action.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Association - Historique

Historique de l’Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique

Cette page retrace l’historique des événements qui ont mené à la création de l’Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique suite au grand rassemblement des familles Proulx tenu à Rimouski à l’été 1996.

Rassemblement de Rimouski de 1996.

En 1996, lors des fêtes du 300e de la Ville de Rimouski, un comité provisoire fut formé dans le but de mettre sur pied une association des familles Proulx. Ce comité formé de 13 personnes comptait 7 personnes hors région dont 4 demeurant dans des provinces autres que le Québec.

Les efforts déployés pour organiser le Rassemblement des Proulx en juillet 1996 avaient miné les énergies et peu était prêt à se lancer dans une nouvelle aventure.

Puis, à notre insu, la flamme s’est ravivée. Certains acteurs de la cuvée 1996 se sont retrouvés et fréquentés. Si bien qu’en fin de 2004 l’impensable deviendra réalisable.

Rapport des activités 2005

L’année 2005 est marquée par le désir de quelques membres du comité provisoire de relancer les travaux pour former une association regroupant les familles portant le patronyme Proulx.

Plusieurs rencontres officieuses et recherche de bénévoles disponibles à s’engager dans l’atteinte de cet objectif mobilise les efforts des administrateurs au cours de l’année 2004.

Des échanges informels permettent d’établir un plan d’action cohérent. Tout le processus pour la mise sur pied d’une association est analysé. Les étapes pour demander nos lettres patentes font l’objet de discussions. La recherche d’un nom pour la future association soulève des interrogations. La création d’un site Web propre à la nouvelle association ainsi que son contenu mobilise bien des efforts.

Le comité provisoire se réuni officiellement le 23 novembre 2005. Le bilan officiel de la future association couvrant la période du 1er novembre 1996 au 23 novembre 2005, est adopté à l’unanimité. Le solde bancaire est de 5 509,69$.

Se référant aux travaux du généalogiste Antonin Proulx sur les différentes souches de Proulx qui furent un apport considérable dans le peuplement de la Nouvelle-France, le comité, après délibération, convient à l‘unanimité de retenir la dénomination sociale suivante : Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique.

Notre trésorier Langis Proulx dépose le 8 décembre 2005 un document officiel demandant une recherche de dénomination sociale auprès de L’Inspecteur général des institutions financières du Gouvernement du Québec.

Il s’agira ici de la première étape légale en vue de la mise sur pied de notre Association.

Rapport des activités 2006

Le 6 de janvier 2006, le secrétaire du comité provisoire soumettait une demande de réservation de la dénomination sociale : Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique suite à la réception positive au rapport de recherche de nom auprès du Registraire des entreprises, Direction des entreprises, Gouvernement du Québec.

Le comité provisoire se réunit le 24 mars 2006 en une salle de la Résidence Lionel Roy, Rimouski. Il procède à la demande de constitution en personne morale sans but lucratif de notre future association.

Pour l’obtention de nos lettres patentes, les requérants sont MM. Joseph Proulx, Martin Proulx et Langis Proulx.

Ont été les autres requérants : Serge Proulx, Jeanine Proulx, Lucette Proulx/Lepage, Nicole Proulx, Christiane Brisson, Claude Brisson et Jean-Paul Guévin.

Le siège social sera de notre Association sera à Rimouski, Québec.

Les premiers administrateurs unanimement proposés sont : Joseph Proulx, Martin Proulx, Langis Proulx, Serge Proulx, Jeanine Proulx, Lucette Proulx/Lepage, Nicole Proulx, Christiane Brisson.

Le montant que peut posséder notre Association est limité à 500 000$.

La mission et les objectifs énumérés dans la demande sont listés dans le document “Règlements généraux” qui ont été remis à tous les membres en règle de l’Association.

Notre demande assermentée fut expédiée le 28 avril 2006. Nos lettres patentes datent du 12 mai 2006.

La Caisse populaire de St-Anaclet est retenue pour effectuer nos transactions bancaires.

Rapport des activités 2007

Aucune réunion officielle de l’Association n’a été tenue au cours de l’année 2007. Les administrateurs se sont penchés, lors de rencontres informelles, sur le contenu des futurs règlements généraux, les éléments à retenir pour concevoir un site Web et son hébergement, la question de posséder des armoiries, la cotisation à exiger pour devenir membre, le recrutement de membres et l’opportunité de rédiger un journal ainsi que l’organisation et la convocation d’une assemblée générale des membres de l’Association.

Rapport des activités 2008

Vos administrateurs se sont réunis à six reprises au cours de l’année à la Résidence Lionel Roy de Rimouski. Deux objectifs majeurs : les règlements généraux et la tenue d’une assemble générale.

Les règlements généraux ont été finalisés lors d’une réunion du comité des règlements tenu le 21 août 2008. Puis la forme et le contenu furent révisés par Mme Georgette Lévesque et M. Pierre Proulx. Le 10 septembre 2008 vos administrateurs après une autre lecture, les acceptaient dans le libellé qui sera présenté à la réunion générale de septembre 2008.

Toutes les réunions tenues en 2008 étaient axées sur l’organisation de la première rencontre annuelle.

Toute la problématique entourant la création de notre propre site Web a eu un dénouement heureux par l’offre de Gilles Proulx de nous héberger sur son site Web. Voir www.gilles-proulx.com. Il devait même nous construire notre propre page Web. Un dossier qui est maintenant clos.

La question de la propriété intellectuelle des nos armoiries a été réglée par le don de Mme Lucette Proulx/Lepage du droit qu’elle possédait à notre Association lors de la réunion du 10 septembre 2008.

La fabrication d’une bannière et d’épinglettes sont d’autres mesures visuelles prises pour souligner notre rencontre annuelle.

Voici un bref résumé de nos actions prises. Nous souhaitons que l’Association des familles Proulx d’Amérique se fasse rassembleuse et que de nombreuses personnes portant le patronyme Proulx ou autres joignent nos rangs pour en dynamiser l’action.

Dernière mise à jour: le lundi, 2 janvier, 2017