Origin and evolution of surnames

Origin and evolution of surnames

6 January 2015 0 By Florian Proulx

Their appearance took place, generally, about a thousand years ago, that is during the Middle Ages. They all come from an individual nickname that defines our ancestor. These surnames can all be classified into four broad categories:

  • Surnames evoking the baptismal name of the head of the family: Jehan Martin, it is Jehan, son of Martin, thus patronyms André, Benoit, Bertrand, Clement, Jean, Mathieu, Paul, Raymond, Richard, etc.
  • Surnames evoking geographical origin or location; it can be linked, either to a neighborhood (Laberge, Duchesne, Duguay (ford), Dubois, Boisvert, etc.) or to a provenance (Langlois / Langlais, Lebreton, Normand / Lenormand or Manseau ie Mans, France … )
  • Surnames translating the trade which are, for the most part, related to the agricultural life or the craft industry:
    • Bergeron: diminutive of shepherd, keeper or sheep breeder
    • Boulanger: bread maker
    • Minier: mine worker
    • Métivier: harvester/keeper of a farm
    • Pelletier: who makes or sells furs
    • Prévost: warlord deformation, judicial officer, etc.
  • Surnames born of a sobriquet, reflecting a physical, moral or social quality of the original ancestor (Bossu, Chauvin, Leblond, Leroux, Courtois, Lebon, Ledoux, Lavertu, etc.)

Some regions of France have kept the mark of descent, as the Berry (straddling countries of Langue d’Oc and oïl) where we find: Ageorges, Aubernard, Alamartine, etc. (son to George, son to Bernard, etc.)

In Quebec, there are surnames of this type which are however of British origin including Johnson, Robinson, Peterson, etc.

As for first names, in France (and probably in Quebec as well), seven out of ten most common names match the baptismal name of the original ancestor (Martin, Rolland, Thomas, Durand …) All still exist as first names, except Durand who is no longer given. The proportion of surnames that are old names of baptism is 60% but most of them are currently forgotten, which explains why the names from a “first name” do not seem to have such a large number. Indeed, who today would name his son or daughter: Archambault, Bonnet, Gaultier, Berthelot …? Nobody, and yet all these names are old first names, but they survive only through our surnames.

For those who would be interested, below a list of first names of the Middle Ages:

Female: Agathe Aliénor Alix Anatasie Ariane Aude Aure Aurore Blanche Brunehaut Camille Catherine Clémence Clothilde Colombe Constance Cunégonde Cyrielle Eléonore Emma Ermeline Eulalie Flore Genièvre Iseult Jeanne Jehanne Justine Mahaut  Malvina Margaux Margot Marguerite Mathilde Mélisende Tiphaine

Male: Adelphe Adrien Anthèlme Arnaut Arthur Aurèle Barthelemy Bartholomé Baudoin Béranger Bertrand Clément Clotaire Clovis Colin Enguerrand Eudes Flavien Florentin  Gaël Gaëtan Gaspard Gaultier Gauvin Guillaume Hermance Maurin Nestor Nortimer Perceval Pierrick Raoul Robin Roland Tancrède Théobald Thimotée

It is necessary to wait for the reign of François Premier (1515-1547) so that the surnames are definitively fixed by the obligation of the keeping of the parish registers. Note also that in the Middle Ages and until the end of the 19th century, the exact spelling of names was of little importance, it also varied greatly depending on the skill or mood of the scribe.

Source: http://www.medieval-moyen-age.net/article-2133505.html

Also, in addition: http://www.medieval-moyen-age.net/article-noms-et-prenoms-dans-le-paris-medieval-de-1292-104984640.html

A future article will focus specifically on the origin and evolution of the surname Proulx

Origine et évolution des patronymes

Origine et évolution des patronymes

6 janvier 2015 0 Par Florian Proulx

Leur apparition a eu lieu, en général, il y a mille ans environ, soit à l’époque du Moyen Age. Ils sont tous issus au départ d’un surnom individuel définissant notre ancêtre. Ces surnoms peuvent tous être classés dans quatre grandes catégories :

  • Surnoms évoquant le nom de baptême du chef de famille : Jehan Martin, c’est Jehan, fils de Martin, ainsi des patronymes André, Benoit, Bertrand, Clément, Jean, Mathieu, Paul, Raymond, Richard, etc.
  • Surnoms évoquant l’origine géographique ou la localisation; ce peut être lié, soit à un voisinage (Laberge, Duchesne, Duguay (du gué), Dubois, Boisvert, etc.), soit à une provenance (Langlois/Langlais, Lebreton, Normand/Lenormand ou Manseau i.e. de Mans, France…)
  • Surnoms traduisant le métier lesquels sont, pour la plupart, liés à la vie agricole ou à l’artisanat :
    • Bergeron : diminutif de berger, gardien ou éleveur de mouton
    • Boulanger : producteur de pain
    • Minier : ouvrier des mines
    • Métivier : moissonneur/tenancier d’une ferme
    • Pelletier : celui qui fabrique ou vend des fourrures
    • Prévost : Déformation de prévôt, officier de justice, etc.
  • Surnoms nés d’un sobriquet, traduisant une qualité physique, morale ou sociale de l’ancêtre initial (Bossu, Chauvin, Leblond, Leroux, Courtois, Lebon, Ledoux, Lavertu, etc.)

Certaines régions de France ont conservé la marque de filiation, comme le Berry (à cheval entre pays de langue d’oc et d’oïl) où l’on trouve: Ageorges, Aubernard, Alamartine, etc. (le fils à Georges, le fils au Bernard, etc.)

Au Québec, on retrouve des patronymes de ce type lesquels sont cependant d’origine britannique notamment les Johnson, Robinson, Peterson, etc.

Quant aux prénoms, en France (et sans doute au Québec également), sept sur dix noms les plus portés correspondent au nom de baptême de l’ancêtre initial (Martin, Rolland, Thomas, Durand…) Tous existent encore comme prénom, sauf Durand qui n’est plus donné. La proportion des noms de famille qui sont d’anciens noms de baptême est de 60% mais la plupart d’entre eux sont actuellement oubliés, ce qui explique pourquoi les noms issus d’un «prénom» ne semblent pas avoir une telle importance numérique. En effet, qui, aujourd’hui prénommerait son fils ou sa fille : Archambault, Bonnet, Gaultier, Berthelot… ? Personne et pourtant tous ces noms sont d’anciens prénoms, mais ils ne survivent plus qu’à travers nos patronymes.

Pour ceux que cela intéresserait, ci-dessous une liste de prénoms du Moyen-Age :

Féminins : Agathe Aliénor Alix Anatasie Ariane Aude Aure Aurore Blanche Brunehaut Camille Catherine Clémence Clothilde Colombe Constance Cunégonde Cyrielle Eléonore Emma Ermeline Eulalie Flore Genièvre Iseult Jeanne Jehanne Justine Mahaut  Malvina Margaux Margot Marguerite Mathilde Mélisende Tiphaine

Masculins : Adelphe Adrien Anthèlme Arnaut Arthur Aurèle Barthelemy Bartholomé Baudoin  Béranger Bertrand Clément Clotaire Clovis Colin Enguerrand Eudes Flavien Florentin  Gaël Gaëtan Gaspard Gaultier Gauvin Guillaume Hermance Maurin Nestor Nortimer  Perceval Pierrick Raoul Robin Roland Tancrède Théobald Thimotée

Il faut attendre le règne de François Premier (1515-1547) pour que les noms de famille soient définitivement fixés par l’obligation de la tenue des registres paroissiaux. Notons aussi qu’au moyen âge et jusqu’à la fin du 19e siècle, l’orthographe exacte des noms avait peu d’importance, elle variait aussi beaucoup suivant la compétence ou l’humeur du scribe.

Source : http://www.medieval-moyen-age.net/article-2133505.html

Aussi, en complément : http://www.medieval-moyen-age.net/article-noms-et-prenoms-dans-le-paris-medieval-de-1292-104984640.html

Un prochain article portera spécifiquement sur l’origine et l’évolution du patronyme Proulx

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •