Our motto: “May all be one”, a beautiful legacy!

Our motto: “May all be one”, a beautiful legacy!

11 March 2018 0 By Jean-Pierre Proulx

Our readers will have noticed this. In the banner of our website, after the name of our association appears a very small sentence. That is our motto: “Let all be one…”.

It was first the motto of the late Bishop Adolphe Proulx, a proud descendant of Jean Prou and Jacquette Fournier. He was successively Bishop of Sault Ste Marie, Alexandria and Hull between 1964 and 1987. His motto was transmitted to our association in 1996 by one of his relatives, Lucette Proulx. Her husband, Mr. Firmin Lepage, had adapted his coat of arms for our association.

Bishop Adolphe Proulx left us his motto.

Bishop Proulx drew his episcopal motto from a word of Jesus in the Gospel of Saint John (17:21): “that all may be one, as you, Father, are in me, and as I am in you, that they also may be one in us, that the world may believe that you have sent me”.

In writing his welcome in the very first issue of Figure de Prou in 2008, the founding president of our Association, Mr. Langis Proulx, had the idea of ending his post with the wish expressed by the motto of Bishop Proulx. I thought it fitted well with the identity of the Proulx Families of Quebec,” he wrote to us.

Indeed, this motto reflects what our association wants to be: the fraternal grouping of the descendants of our six pioneers to whom history, in time immemorial, has given the patronymic of Proulx to share. Not forgetting, of course, all those who have associated themselves with these Proulx.

Apparently, there is no relationship between our six Proulx pioneers. In any case, DNA tests have so far proved nothing.

But since the arrival of our pioneers, their descendants have sometimes mixed their blood! Thus, my three children descended by their father from Jean Prou and Catherine Pinel and by their mother from Jacques Proulx and Jeanne Pilon. Moreover, the maternal grandmother of my grandchildren is a Proulx descended from Jean Prou and Jacquette Fournier. In short, my grandchildren have three Proulx ancestors! Who says better?

That’s not all. Our president Florian is descended from Pierre Prou and Marie Gauthier, but also, I believe, by his mother, Jean Prou and Catherine Pinel. In short, we are cousins!

I am obviously very honoured!

Jean-Pierre Proulx

Nos lecteurs l’auront sans doute remarqué. Dans le bandeau de notre site web, après le nom de notre association, apparaît une toute petite phrase. C’est notre devise: « Que tous soient un… ».

C’était d’abord la devise de feu Monsieur l’évêque Adolphe Proulx, un fier descendant de Jean Prou et de Jacquette Fournier. Il a été successivement évêque du Sault-Ste-Marie, d’Alexandria et de Hull entre 1964 et 1987. Sa devise a été transmise à notre association en 1996 par une de ses parentes, Mme Lucette Proulx. Son mari, M. Firmin Lepage, avait adapté ses armoiries pour notre association.

Monsieur l’évêque Adolphe Proulx qui nous a légué sa devise.

Monsieur l’évêque Proulx a tiré sa devise épiscopale d’une parole de Jésus dans l’évangile de saint Jean (17, 21): « que tous soient un, comme toi, Père, tu es en moi, et comme je suis en toi, afin qu’eux aussi soient un en nous, pour que le monde croie que tu m’as envoyé ».

En écrivant son mot de bienvenue dans le tout premier numéro de Figure de Prou en 2008, le président fondateur de notre Association, M. Langis Proulx, eut l’idée de terminer son billet par le souhait exprimé par la devise de Monsieur l’évêque Proulx. « Je trouvais que cela collait bien à l’identité des Familles Proulx du Québec », nous a-t-il écrit.

En effet, cette devise rend bien compte ce que veut être notre association: le regroupement fraternel des descendantes et descendants de nos six pionniers à qui l’histoire, en des temps immémoriaux, a donné le patronyme de Proulx en partage. Sans oublier, bien sûr, toutes celles et ceux qui se sont associés à ces Proulx.

Apparemment, il n’existerait aucun lien de parenté entre nos six pionniers Proulx. En tout cas, les tests d’ADN n’ont, à ce jour, rien prouvé.

Mais depuis l’arrivée de nos pionniers, leurs descendants ont parfois mêlé leur sang! Ainsi, mes trois enfants descendant par leur père de Jean Prou et de Catherine Pinel et par leur mère, de Jacques Proulx et de Jeanne Pilon. Au surplus, la grand-mère maternelle de mes petits-enfants est une Proulx descendante de Jean Prou et de Jacquette Fournier. Bref, mes petits-enfants ont trois ancêtres Proulx! Qui dit mieux?

Ce n’est pas tout. Notre président Florian descend de Pierre Prou et de Marie Gauthier, mais aussi, par sa mère, je crois, de Jean Prou et de Catherine Pinel. Bref, nous sommes cousins!

J’en suis évidemment fort honoré!

Jean-Pierre Proulx

  • 6
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
    6
    Partages

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *