Longueuil meeting, a great success

Longueuil meeting, a great success

June 5th, 2018 6 By Florian Proulx

The Association’s regional meeting held last Sunday in Longueuil was a great success. Thirty-two people from all regions of Quebec participated: from Bas-du-Fleuve to the Outaouais, from Saguenay to Montérégie via Charlevoix.

Most importantly and for the first time, descendants of each of our twelve ancestors, the six original Proulx and their wives, were represented. They were able to chat with each other during brunch taken in a beautiful and large room of a restaurant on St. Charles heritage street.

Our host, Jean-Pierre, made himself strong before the meal began to call each of the participants and participants by highlighting their respective lineage.

At the end of the meal, Jean-Pierre delivered the promised talk on L’École de nos ancêtres. He first introduced the religious institutions, both male and female, which, under both the French and English regimes, held a few “small schools” and colleges here and there until 1827. They allowed some of our ancestors, but not the first, to at least learn to sign their names!

Jean-Pierre also did some research to find educated Proulx. He thus traced the signature of some of them and in the first place that of François (1718), son of Jean and Catherine Pinel, and of his brother Joseph (1728).  He also found the first Proulx who attended the Quebec seminary. It is Antoine, François’ son, ordained priest in 1751 and who is the inventor of the “I” of our patronymic Proulx!

But it was a descendant of Jean and Jacquette Fournier, Marie-Luce, who was the first nun of the Congrégation Notre-Dame. She is a great-granddaughter of Jean and Jacquette Fournier. The sisters of this congregation opened 20 “small schools” for girls under the French Regime, one in Champlain and the other in Neuville, home of Pierre and Marie Gauthier and Jean and Catherine Pinel respectively.

In total, Jean-Pierre concluded, there were very few schools before 1827, the year of our first real school law and of which we are still the heirs, that is to say, a little more than a hundred for a population of some 300 000 people.

In conclusion, he invited participants to continue research on the education of their ancestors.

The regional meetings, formulas desired by our members, are certainly to be taken up again. They allow an effective fraternization of members, which is one of the essential goals of our family association.

Your president,

Florian Proulx

La rencontre de Longueuil remporte un vif succès

La rencontre de Longueuil remporte un vif succès

5 juin 2018 6 Par Florian Proulx

La rencontre régionale de l’Association tenue dimanche dernier à Longueuil a remporté un vif succès. Trente-deux personnes y ont participé en provenance de toutes les régions du Québec: du Bas-du-Fleuve à l’Outaouais, du Saguenay à la Montérégie en passant par Charlevoix.

Surtout et pour la première fois, des descendants de chacun de nos douze ancêtres, les six Proulx d’origine et leurs épouses, étaient représentés. Ils ont pu échanger entre eux au cours du brunch pris dans une belle et grande salle d’un restaurant de la rue patrimoniale St-Charles.

Notre animateur, Jean-Pierre, s’est d’ailleurs fait fort avant que ne commence le repas de faire l’appel de chacun des participants et participants en soulignant leur lignage respectif.

À la fin du repas, Jean-Pierre a livré la causerie promise sur L’École de nos ancêtres. Il a d’abord présenté les institutions religieuses aussi bien masculines que féminines qui, tant sous les Régimes français qu’anglais, ont, ça et là, et jusqu’en 1827, tenu quelques « petites écoles » et des collèges. Elles ont permis à quelques-uns de nos ancêtres, mais pas les premiers, d’apprendre au moins à signer leur nom!

Jean-Pierre a mené aussi quelques recherches pour dénicher des Proulx instruits. Il a ainsi retracé la signature de quelques-uns d’entre eux, et au premier chef celle de François (1718), fils de Jean et Catherine Pinel, et de son frère Joseph (1728). Il a aussi trouvé le premier Proulx qui a fréquenté le séminaire de Québec. Il s’agit d’ Antoine, le fils de François, ordonné prêtre en 1751 et qui est l’inventeur du « l » de notre patronyme Proulx!

Mais c’est une descendante de Jean et Jacquette Fournier, Marie-Luce, qui a été la première religieuse de la Congrégation Notre-Dame. Elle est une arrière-petite-fille de Jean et Jacquettes Fournier. Les soeurs de cette congrégation ont d’ailleurs ouvert 20 « petites écoles » pour les filles sous le Régime français dont l’une à Champlain et l’autre à Neuville, patrie respective de Pierre et Marie Gauthier et de Jean et Catherine Pinel.

Au total, a conclu Jean-Pierre, il y a eu bien peu d’écoles avant 1827, année de notre première véritable loi scolaire et dont nous sommes encore les héritiers, soit un peu plus d’une centaine pour une population de quelque 300 000 personnes.

En conclusion, il a invité les participants à poursuivre des recherches sur l’instruction de leurs ancêtres.

Les rencontres régionales, formules souhaitées par nos membres, sont certainement à reprendre. Elles permettent une efficace fraternisation des membres, ce qui est l’un des buts essentiels de notre association de familles.

Votre président,

Florian Proulx

  • 1
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
    1
    Partage