The proof is made: Jean Prou de Neuville is the son of Nicolas Proust and Catherine Montour

The proof is made: Jean Prou de Neuville is the son of Nicolas Proust and Catherine Montour

April 15th, 2016 11 By Jean-Pierre Proulx

Jean Prou de Neuville, husband of Catherine Pinel, was the son of Nicolas Proust and Catherine Montour. He was baptized on November 13th, 1633, at the parish of St-Jean-l’Évangéliste de Montierneuf in Poitiers. He married for the first time in the same parish on September 15th, 1658, with Louise Garnaud with whom he had a baby daughter, Nicole, born August 4th, 1659. His wife died on November 23rd, 1660. We also established with a near certainty that his paternal grandfather and grandmother were Laurent Proust and Denise Roy (and not Jacques Proust and Catherine Mondurier).

Église St-Jean-de Montierneuf

Several years ago, the ‘fichier Origine‘ announced the filiation of Jean Proust, without nobody publishing any proof so far. This is now done thanks to the wonderful collaboration of two genealogists from Poitiers, Françoise Hovaere and Thierry Peronnet. Both worked intensively in the last 30 days to collect the documentary evidence that led to a firm conclusion. I thank them on behalf of all the descendants of Jean Prou and Catherine Pinel.

We already knew that Jean Proust – according to the graph of Poitou – had married Jeanne Chabot and that they had together two children, Jeanne and Sebastien. However, it was unknown that he had married a first time with Louise Garnaud. When Jean left Poitiers, he left his family to immigrate to Canada. He never saw it again. After learning, around 1673 that Jeanne was dead, he remarried Catherine Pinel in 1676 in Quebec City. Then they settled in Neuville.

Jean Proust’s proof of parentage to Nicolas and Catherine Montour was established “by presumption” i.e. on indices rather than direct documentary evidence. But this proof is solid. We will be able to read it in a few months in an article that I will submit shortly to the ‘Mémoires de la Société généalogique canadienne-française’.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •

La preuve est faite: Jean Prou de Neuville est le fils de Nicolas Proust et de Catherine Montour

La preuve est faite: Jean Prou de Neuville est le fils de Nicolas Proust et de Catherine Montour

15 avril 2016 11 Par Jean-Pierre Proulx

Jean Prou de Neuville, époux de Catherine Pinel, était bien le fils de Nicolas Proust et de Catherine Montour. Il a été baptisé le 13 novembre 1633 à la paroisse St-Jean-l’Évangéliste de Montierneuf à Poitiers. Il s’est marié une première fois dans la même paroisse le 15 septembre 1658 avec Louise Garnaud avec laquelle il a eu une petite fille, Nicole, née le 4 août 1659. Son épouse est décédée le 23 novembre 1660. Nous avons aussi établi avec une quasi certitude que son grand-père et sa grand-mère paternelle étaient Laurent Proust et Denise Roy (et non pas Jacques Proust et Catherine Mondurier).

Église St-Jean-de Montierneuf

Il y a plusieurs années, le fichier Origine a annoncé la filiation de Jean Proust, sans jamais cependant que personne n’en publie jusqu’ici la preuve. C’est chose faite maintenant grâce à la collaboration merveilleuse de deux généalogistes de Poitiers, Mme Françoise Hovaere et M. Thierry Peronnet. Tous deux ont travaillé de façon intense ces derniers 30 jours a rassemblé les preuves documentaires qui ont mené à une conclusion ferme. Je les remercie au nom de tous les descendants de Jean Prou et Catherine Pinel.

Nous savions déjà que Jean Proust – selon la graphie du Poitou – avait marié Jeanne Chabot et qu’ils ont eu ensemble deux enfants, Jeanne et Sébastien. Toutefois, on ignorait qu’il s’était marié une première fois avec Louise Garnaud. Quand Jean a quitté Poitiers, il y a laissé sa famille pour immigrer au Canada. Il ne l’a jamais revue. Après avoir appris, vers 1673 que Jeanne était morte, il s’est remarié avec Catherine Pinel en 1676 à Québec. Puis ils se sont installés à Neuville.

La preuve de filiation de Jean Proust à Nicolas et Catherine Montour a été établie « par présomption » i.e. sur des indices plutôt que sur une preuve documentaire directe. Mais cette preuve est solide. On pourra en prendre connaissance dans quelques mois dans un article que je soumettrai incessamment aux Mémoires de la Société généalogique canadienne-française.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •