Our maternal ancestors: 5- Marie Fleury (1673-1752)

Our maternal ancestors: 5- Marie Fleury (1673-1752)

December 27th, 2017 0 By Jean-Pierre Proulx

Marie Fleury married Jean-Baptiste Préaux on March 2nd, 1699 at Notre-Dame parish in Quebec City. She is the ancestor of a fifth Proulx line after Pierre & Marie Gauthier from Champlain, Jean & Jacquette Fournier from Montmagny, Jean & Catherine Pinel from Neuville and Jacques & Jeanne Pilon from Pointe-Claire.

Register of the baptisms of Sillery.

Les Préaux became mysteriously Proulx from the second generation and even during Marie’s lifetime. Probably a matter of pronunciation. She was indeed designated as Prou’s widow at her second marriage with Nicolas Beauher (now Boire; pronounce Bouaire as in the song!), on May 30th, 1712, in Charlesbourg. Several of her descendants chose the surname of Clément, from the first name of one of his sons, hence the Proulx dit Clément or vice versa.

Marie is Canadian since she was born in Sillery on May 12th, 1673, and baptized under this name[1].

The Jesuit mission in Sillery (early 18th century).

The Jesuits still recorded baptisms in Latin. Her name, Mariam, is clearly visible at the end of the third line. The Jesuits had established a mission As for there, built a fort and a mill in the first half of the 17th century.

Marie was the daughter of François Fleury and Marie-Jeanne Gilles, probably married in Quebec in 1670. Her father and mother were immigrants. At his wedding, François is said to be a resident of Côte St-Ange, northwest of Quebec City, but originally from the parish of St-Pierre and St-Paul de Rueil-Malmaison, a commune located between Paris and St-Germain-en-Laye near Nanterre.

The church of St-Pierre and St-Paul is the same one that François knew since its construction began in 1584. Antoine Ier, King of Portugal in exile, lays the foundation stone for the new church. The present façade was erected from 1632 to 1634 by order of the famous Cardinal Richelieu. He was the owner of the nearby château du Val. Josephine de Beauharnais, Napoleon Bonaparte’s first wife, is buried there.

As for Marie-Jeanne Gilles, Marie’s mother, was the daughter of Pierre Gilles and Anne Nicolas. She came to the parish of St-Nicolas des Champs in Paris. It is a beautiful Gothic church located on rue St-Martin not far from the centre of Pompidou and started around 1420.

Saint Louise de Marillac is one of the important historical personalities of this parish. This widow and mother of a son is the foundress of the Sisters of Charity associated with Saint Vincent de Paul.

The Fleury-Gilles couple settled in Sillery around 1670 but stayed in Neuville between 1681-1684. They had ten children, only six of whom survived. Marie is the second of the family.

Marie Fleury’s descendants

Marie and her husband Jean-Baptiste Préau settled in Charlesbourg in 1699. The Jesuits owned this very special seigneury there because of its star cutting.

The seigneury of Charlesbourg cut into stars as we still see it today.

From her marriage to Jean-Baptiste Préau, Catherine had five children, four boys and a daughter. Only three survived: Jean-François (1700), Clément (1703) and Marie (1707). François (1702) and Jacques (1710), died shortly after birth.

Marie lived barely 12 years with her husband Jean-Baptiste. He died on May 22nd, 1711, in Charlesbourg at the age of 60. The eldest, Jean-François, was only 11 years old and the youngest, Marie, 4 years old. It is impossible for a widow, as it is for a widower, to live alone.

The widow remarried in Charlesbourg one year later, on May 30th, 1712, with Jean Beauher. Born in Toussaint in Brittany, Jean is 48 years old and himself a widower. He is the father of four children about the same age as those of Marie. So here she is all of a sudden mother of seven children. The new couple will still have two children, including Henri, the only one who will survive!

But Marie became a widow again on December 31st, 1716, when Jean died at the Hôtel-Dieu in Quebec City. She was then 43 years old. The children of both families are then between one and eighteen years old. It is not known how Catherine and her family survived then.

None of the children will live in the Quebec City area. Jean-François, the eldest, was the first to leave Charlesbourg, possibly with his mother. In 1729, at the age of 29, he married Suzanne Leduc, a girl of Lachine. All living children will migrate to the island of Montreal, especially in the west, and to Longueuil. Maybe she lives with Clément in Ste-Geneviève de Pierrefonds, surrounded by her 14 grandchildren still alive. It was there that she was buried on March 15th, 1752, at the very respectable age of 89.

Beyond these genealogical notes, the history of the Proulx-Fleury and Boire-Fleury family remains to be done. Notarial deeds may well reveal many more interesting things about this family. Who among his descendants, member or not, of our association is going to launch out?

Next and last post on the Proulx wives: Marguerite Brunet, wife of René, the last to arrive in this country.

[1] She appeared only twice, in the Charlesbourg register, under the first name of Catherine, at the baptism of her eldest son Jean-François in 1700 and Marie-Catherine in 1707.

  • 3
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
    3
    Partages

Marie Fleury a épousé Jean-Baptiste Préaux le 2 mars 1699 à la paroisse Notre-Dame de Québec. Elle est l’ancêtre d’une cinquième lignée de Proulx après celles de Pierre-Marie Gauthier de Champlain, de Jean-Jacquette Fournier de Montmagny, de Jean-Catherine Pinel de Neuville et de Jacques-Jeanne Pilon de Pointe-Claire.

Registre des baptêmes de Sillery.

Les Préaux sont devenus mystérieusement des Proulx dès la seconde génération et même du vivant de Marie. Sans doute, une question de prononciation. Elle sera en effet désignée comme la veuve Prou lors de son second mariage avec Nicolas Beauher (devenu Boire; prononcer Bouaire comme dans la chanson!), le 30 mai 1712 à Charlesbourg. Plusieurs de ses descendants ont choisi le patronyme de Clément, du prénom de l’un de ses fils, d’où les Proulx dit Clément ou inversement.

Marie est canadienne puisque née à Sillery le 12 mai 1673 et baptisée sous ce prénom[1].

La mission des jésuites à Sillery (début du 18e siècle).

Les jésuites enregistraient encore les baptêmes en latin. On distingue bien son nom, Mariam, à la fin de la troisième ligne. Les jésuites y avaient établi une mission, construit un fort et un moulin dans la première moitié du 17e siècle.

Marie est la fille de François Fleury et de Marie-Jeanne Gilles mariés probablement à Québec en 1670. Ses père et mère étaient des immigrants. À son mariage, François est dit résident à la Côte St-Ange, au nord-ouest de Québec, mais originaire de la paroisse St-Pierre et St-Paul de Rueil-Malmaison, une commune sise entre Paris et St-Germain-en-Laye près de Nanterre.

L’église St-Pierre et St-Paul est celle-là même qu’a connue François puisque sa construction a débuté en 1584. Antoine Ier, roi du Portugal en exil, pose la première pierre de la nouvelle église. La façade actuelle a été érigée de 1632 à 1634 sur ordre du célèbre cardinal Richelieu. Il était propriétaire du château du Val tout proche. Joséphine de Beauharnais, la première épouse de Napoléon Bonaparte, y est inhumée.

Quant à Marie-Jeanne Gilles, la mère de Marie, elle était la fille de Pierre Gilles et de Anne Nicolas. Elle venait la paroisse St-Nicolas des Champs à Paris. C’est une belle église gothique située rue St-Martin non loin du centre Pompidou et commencée vers 1420.

Sainte Louise de Marillac est l’une des personnalités historiques importantes de cette paroisse. Cette veuve et mère d’un fils est la fondatrice des Sœurs de la Charité associées à saint Vincent de Paul.

Le couple Fleury-Gilles s’est installée à Sillery autour des années 1670, mais avec un séjour à Neuville entre 1681-1684. Il a eu dix enfants dont six seulement ont survécu. Marie est la deuxième de la famille.

La descendance de Marie Fleury

Marie et son mari Jean-Baptiste Préau se sont établis à Charlesbourg en 1699. Les jésuites y possédaient cette seigneurie tout spéciale en raison de son découpage en étoile.

La seigneurie de Charlesbourg découpée en étoile comme on la voit encore aujourd’hui.

De son mariage avec Jean-Baptiste Préau, Catherine a eu cinq enfants, quatre garçons et une fille. Trois seulement ont survécu: Jean-François (1700), Clément (1703) et Marie (1707). François (1702) et Jacques (1710), sont morts peu après leur naissance.

Marie a vécu à peine 12 ans avec son mari Jean-Baptiste. Celui-ci est décédé le 22 mai 1711 à Charlesbourg à l’âge de 60 ans. L’aîné, Jean-François, n’avait que 11 ans et la plus jeune, Marie, 4 ans. Impossible pour une veuve, comme pour un veuf d’ailleurs, de vivre seuls.

La veuve se remarie donc à Charlesbourg, un an plus tard, soit le 30 mai 1712, avec Jean Beauher. Né à Toussaint en Bretagne, Jean a 48 ans et il est lui-même veuf. Il est père de quatre enfants à peu près du même âge que ceux de Marie. La voilà donc tout d’un coup mère de sept enfants. Le nouveau couple aura encore deux enfants, dont Henri, le seul qui survivra!

Mais Marie redeviendra veuve le 31 décembre 1716 quand Jean meurt à l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec. Elle a alors 43 ans. Les enfants des deux familles ont alors entre un an et dix-huit ans. On ignore comment Catherine et les siens ont alors subsisté.

Aucun des enfants ne demeurera dans la région de Québec. Jean-François, l’aîné, est le premier à quitter Charlesbourg, possiblement en compagnie de sa mère. En effet, en 1729, il épouse à 29 ans Suzanne Leduc, une fille de Lachine. Tous les enfants vivants vont migrer dans l’île de Montréal, particulièrement dans l’ouest, et à Longueuil. Peut-être vit-elle chez Clément installé à Ste-Geneviève de Pierrefonds, entouré de ses 14 petits enfants encore vivants. C’est là qu’elle est inhumée le 15 mars 1752 à l’âge très respectable de 89 ans.

Au-delà de ces notes généalogiques, l’histoire de la famille Proulx-Fleury et Boire-Fleury reste à faire. Les actes notariés pourraient bien faire découvrir encore plein de choses intéressantes sur cette famille. Qui de ses descendants, membre ou non, de notre association va se lancer?

Prochain et dernier billet sur les épouses des Proulx: Marguerite Brunet, femme de René, le dernier arrivé en ce pays.

[1] Elle n’apparaît que deux fois, dans le registre de Charlesbourg, sous le prénom de Catherine, soit au baptême de son aîné Jean-François en 1700 et de Marie-Catherine en 1707.

  • 3
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
    3
    Partages

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *